Recognising New Zealand’s top tertiary educators

October 2016


Facebook       Tweet

This year’s Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards saw a diverse range of tertiary educators recognised for their outstanding teaching efforts.

Top tertiary educatorsThe Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards (TTEAs) celebrate New Zealand’s finest tertiary teachers, as recognised by their organisations, colleagues, learners and broader communities. Ako Aotearoa, the National Centre for Tertiary Teaching Excellence, administers the awards, aiming to recognise and celebrate excellence in tertiary teaching and share good practice that has proven benefit for learners.

A parliamentary dinner to celebrate this year’s awards was hosted jointly on 23 August by the Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment, Hon Steven Joyce, and Dr Jian Yang, Chairperson of the Education and Science Committee.  A total of 12 awards were presented on the night for sustained excellence in tertiary teaching. Two were presented under the Kaupapa Māori category and a further nine in the General category. All Sustained Excellence winners received $20,000 and the Supreme Award winner received an additional $10,000.

The awards were presented to:

  • Dr Judith Bateup, Senior Teaching Fellow, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Otago
  • Dr Margaret Brunton, Associate Professor, School of Communication, Journalism and Marketing, Massey University
  • Associate Professor Martin East, Faculty of Education and Social Work, the University of Auckland
  • Dr Megan Gibbons, Head of School, Institute of Sport and Adventure, Otago Polytechnic
  • Associate Professor Tracey McIntosh Kaupapa Māori category, Faculty of Arts, the University of Auckland
  • Dr Azra Moeed, Senior Lecturer, School of Education, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Richard Nyhof, Principal Lecturer, School of Engineering, Otago Polytechnic
  • James Oldfield, Senior Lecturer, Learning Capability Developer, Unitec Institute of Technology
  • Professor Jacinta Ruru Kaupapa Māori category, Faculty of Law, the University of Otago
  • Matthew Thompson, Senior Lecturer, Architecture, Building and Engineering, Otago Polytechnic
  • Professor Darryl Tong, Department of Oral Diagnostics and Surgical Sciences, the University of Otago
  • Dr Rachel Zajac, Senior Lecturer, Department of Psychology, the University of Otago

Post your comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments