2015 Prime Minister's Education Excellence Awards launched



Facebook       Tweet

Education Minister Hekia Parata has launched the 2015 Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards, which recognise and celebrate excellence in teaching, leadership, community engagement and governance.

awards ceremonyThe inaugural awards were held this year and were deemed a success, with many schools participating. Otumoetai Intermediate in Tauranga emerged as the supreme winner. Read about Education Review’s visit to the winning school here.

Parata says the awards are about raising student achievement.

 “Quality teaching and strong leadership are crucial to raising student achievement and strong involvement from parents and high community expectations also make the difference outside of schools and early childhood services.”

The awards cover early childhood education, primary and secondary schooling, and communities of learning made up of all three. They focus on collaboration and collective effort and are open to groups and partnerships.

The four main categories are:

  • Excellence in governing – providing vision, innovation and creativity to inspire teaching and learning that lifts achievement.
  • Excellence in leading – leading peers or colleagues to challenge and lift achievement.
  • Excellence in teaching and learning – lifting achievement, engagement, retention and attendance of young New Zealanders.
  • Excellence in engaging – working with parents and communities to transform relationships and involvement.

The winning entry of each category will receive $20,000 and professional development opportunities. Category winners will be eligible for the Prime Minister’s Supreme Award, which will go to the partnership or group that has had the most impact on raising student achievement and will receive an additional $30,000.

A further prize is awarded each year focusing on a different part of the education system. The 2015 Education Focus Prize will be for demonstrated collaboration that develops communities of learning from early childhood through to senior schooling.

Entries have now opened and will close on 20 March 2015. Entry forms and information are available at www.pmawards.education.govt.nz 

Finalists will be announced in May 2015 and a national awards ceremony will be held in June.

Post your comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments