2017 PM's Education Excellence Awards now open



Facebook       Tweet

The 2017 Prime Minister's Education Excellence Awards are now open. Education Minister Hekia Parata is encouraging all schools, kura and early childhood education providers across New Zealand to enter.

“We’ve seen some truly inspiring entries over the past three years demonstrating the fundamental difference excellent teaching practice can make for kids. Previous entrants have said how proud these awards have made their schools and communities,” says Parata.

McAuley High School took home the 2016 Supreme Award as well as the Excellence in Engaging award. Rotorua Boys' High School and Rangitoto College were also among this years' winners.

The four main categories for the awards are:

  • Excellence in engaging
  • Excellence in leading
  • Excellence in teaching and learning
  • Excellence in governing

The winning entry in each category receives $20,000 and a professional development opportunity. Category winners are also eligible for the Prime Minister’s Supreme Award, which goes to the group that has had the most impact on raising student achievement. The winner of the Supreme Award receives an additional $30,000.

A further prize, the Education Focus Prize, is awarded each year focusing on a different part of the education system.

“I’m excited that the 2017 Education Focus Prize celebrates excellence in the design of local curriculum using digital technologies. It’s about students using digital technology in their local area in an innovative way to tackle the curriculum,” says Parata.

Entries open today (17 October 2016) and close on 17 March 2017. Finalists will be announced in May 2017 and a national awards ceremony will be held in June 2017.

Entry forms and more information are available here.



Post your comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments